Facebook Marketing 2019 - valuable expert knowledge summarised

by Social Media Marketing

Like all social networks, Facebook is very dynamic. Rules that applied two years ago are long outdated. What should entrepreneurs consider when Facebook marketing? An expert talk by Antoine Dupont offers valuable insights into today's successful Facebook marketing strategies. A summary.

Opinions are divided on Facebook. Some of the younger generation don't even register, because Instagram is more popular with young people. In certain circles, I also hear of many dropouts who want to distance themselves from the network for personal reasons. Nevertheless, there are still around 2.3 billion Facebook users worldwide (Status 2018). That's a whopping 30% of the world's population!!!

Facebook marketing is therefore still a promising business strategy.

But I have become unsure. It seems more tedious than ever and the reach isn't what it used to be either. Is it even possible to successfully establish Facebook in one's business these days? Especially when it comes to small and medium-sized businesses that have limited time and money resources? And if so, which Facebook marketing strategies should we pursue in 2019?

Efficient Facebook marketing strategies

In my search for answers, I came across an exceptionally memorable Presentation by Antoine Dupont a successful digital Marketing expertn. The statements are helpful - and not only for the big players among us.

At the end of this article, I link to the corresponding video. If you speak English and have an hour to spare, I highly recommend watching it.

However, if you prefer it in German or are in a hurry, you can read the core statements of the lecture below: 

8 important Facebook facts

01

Nobody wants to buy anything on Facebook

If you are on Facebook, you do not intend to buy anything. That is why you should not try to buy anything there. sell.

02

The organic contribution reach goes towards zero

Post reach refers to the number of people in whose newsfeed posts from your Facebook page were displayed. Organic reach refers to unpaid posts and is only around 1-3 %. Sad, but true. The alternative is paid posts - the so-called Facebook Ads.

03

It's all about likes, shares and comments....

This point is self-explanatory.

04

 ... especially comments!

 ... especially comments!

The more and the longer the comments, the better. Facebook itself speaks of "engagement".

05

Facebook shows content we love and hides anything boring

The more and the longer the comments, the better. Facebook itself speaks of "engagement".

Facebook's goal is to create a good user experience. The Facebook feed is therefore like a shop window. Only attractive content is presented to the outside world. Everything else disappears on the rummage table or in the warehouse where no one will find it.

In other words, posts that get no likes and are neither shared nor commented on are considered uninteresting and are not displayed.

06

The most popular content on social media - including Facebook - are:

  • inspirational/(educational) (25%)
  • funny (17%)
  • and/or entertaining (15%)

07

The three important E's: Engage, Educate & Entertain

In German, this means: Engagement, education and entertainment are the focus of Facebook.

08

First comes the added value, then the trust - and with it the audience

The more and the longer the comments, the better. Facebook itself speaks of "engagement".

 The amount of trust you earn, is proportionate to the value you provide (Antoine Dupont).

This means, conversely: the smaller a community, the higher the need for added value to be delivered. Because only that creates trust and only then will the fans come. Many make a fundamental mistake by thinking "I barely have any followers yet, who am I going to post good content for?" But if you don't post anything good, you will never get fans.

 

The most important DONT'S on Facebook

Share boring content - and then disappear

Most companies make the mistake of sharing one boring post after another. In the worst case, without comment or any effort to get people to engage. Dupond talks about "post & disappear" (Eng: post & disappear). It is the death sentence of every page.

Like your own content

Um yeah... that's just sad. Especially when they are the first and only likes.

Put quantity before quality

"As many posts as possible" is not a measure of success. Because it does no good at all to share a bad post every day that nobody is interested in. Instead, you should e.g. rather share once a week the one, ultimate content that makes a difference.

The most important DO'S on Facebook

Post & Engage

To achieve this, according to Dupont, you have to before each post ask these 3 questions:

  • does it make me laugh (or feel other emotional stirrings)?
  • does it bring added value? (Learning effect, entertainment...)
  • does it make me want to join/engage (i.e. like, share or comment)?

Ideally, you can answer all three questions with a "yes". 3x No means in any case NOT posting.

Be authentic

Facebook users want people, not machines. So be yourself and Show humanity. And do not try to imitate others

Answer the questions of the target group with the contributions

Far too often, companies base the planning of their contributions on what they find interesting. Or what theywantthat people know should. But mostly these are not the questions of Facebook users. The art is to answer exactly the questions of the users with the contributions. A helpful and free tool for this is Answer the public.

By the way: A question that comes up again and again in most keyword research is: How much does it cost? Many companies find it difficult to answer this question; we don't like to talk about prices. But that's exactly what people are interested in. So tell them.

Start a Facebook group

Facebook groups are THE places where engagement happens. Forming a group around a common purpose or interest is therefore strongly recommended.

  • The goal: 30 superfans (= super active group members) who keep the group going.
  • The two golden group rules: do not post advertising and do not post insults

Videos, videos, videos

Videos generate 18x more engagement than any other content format! Moreover, according to Dupont, Facebook will consist almost exclusively of videos by 2020. That's why everyone should try to put time and money into producing videos.

But please no promotional videos - because no one wants to watch advertising. The following are recommended instead educational videos with a recognisable added value, for example How To's. That sounds like a lot of (new) work at first. It certainly is. But the good news is: it may be simple - and in many cases even a smartphone is enough for the recording.

Show patience

A community cannot be built overnight. On the contrary - it can take very many months. Most people give up too quickly.

Start NOW

Now. Not in a few weeks. Because Facebook will not be accessible to businesses in this way forever. It is still affordable to run Facebook Ads and thus increase your reach. But in all likelihood, paid posts will become more expensive in the future - and thus no longer financially viable for many small enterprises.

Instead of spending money on advertising that nobody wants to see, you should therefore use this money to attract attention with good content on Facebook.

Click here for the lecture...

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

PGlmcmFtZSB0aXRsZT0iNiBFYXN5IFN0ZXBzIHRvIGFuIEVmZmVjdGl2ZSBGYWNlYm9vayBNYXJrZXRpbmcgU3RyYXRlZ3kiIHdpZHRoPSIxMDgwIiBoZWlnaHQ9IjYwOCIgc3JjPSJodHRwczovL3d3dy55b3V0dWJlLW5vY29va2llLmNvbS9lbWJlZC9jMjFjSHJ3NWI5Zz9mZWF0dXJlPW9lbWJlZCIgIGFsbG93PSJhY2NlbGVyb21ldGVyOyBhdXRvcGxheTsgY2xpcGJvYXJkLXdyaXRlOyBlbmNyeXB0ZWQtbWVkaWE7IGd5cm9zY29wZTsgcGljdHVyZS1pbi1waWN0dXJlOyB3ZWItc2hhcmUiIGFsbG93ZnVsbHNjcmVlbj48L2lmcmFtZT4=

If you enjoyed this post, please recommend it to others:

The right WordPress theme - this is how you find it!

Finding the right WordPress theme can be a real challenge. There is no shortage of choices, because there are countless themes. The trick is rather to find the right one for your...

13 content formats for colourful variety on the website

Outstanding content is the be-all and end-all of a successful website. They improve the...

Facebook Marketing 2019 − wertvolles Experten-Wissen zusammengefasst

von | Social Media Marketing

Wie alle sozialen Netzwerke ist Facebook sehr dynamisch. Regeln, die vor zwei Jahren noch galten, sind längst überholt. Was sollten Unternehmer beim Facebook Marketing berücksichtigen? Ein Experten-Vortrag von Antoine Dupont bietet wertvolle Einblicke in die erfolgreichen Facebook Marketing Strategien von heute. Eine Zusammenfassung.

Bei Facebook scheiden sich mittlerweile durchaus die Geister. Die jüngere Generation meldet sich teilweise gar nicht erst an, denn bei der Jugend ist eher Instagram angesagt. Auch höre ich in bestimmten Kreisen von vielen Aussteigern, die sich aus persönlichen Gründen von dem Netzwerk distanzieren möchten. Dennoch gibt es weltweit noch rund 2,3 Milliarden Facebook Nutzer (Stand 2018). Das sind stolze 30% der Weltbevölkerung!!

Facebook Marketing ist daher nach wie vor eine vielversprechende Unternehmensstrategie.

Doch ich bin unsicher geworden. Es erscheint mir mühsamer denn je und die Reichweite ist auch nicht mehr das, was sie einmal war. Ist es heutzutage überhaupt noch möglich, Facebook erfolgreich in seinem Unternehmen zu etablieren? Insbesondere dann, wenn es sich um kleine und mittelständige Unternehmen handelt, die nur begrenzte Zeit- und Geld-Ressourcen zur Verfügung haben? Und wenn ja, welche Facebook Marketing Strategien sollten wir 2019 verfolgen?

Effiziente Facebook Marketing Strategien

Auf meiner Suche nach Antworten, bin ich auf eine ausgesprochen einprägsame Präsentation von Antoine Dupont gestoßen, einem erfolgreichen digital Marketing Experten. Die Aussagen sind hilfreich – und zwar nicht nur für die Big Player unter uns.

Am Ende dieses Artikels, verlinke ich auf das entsprechende Video. Wer der englischen Sprache mächtig ist und eine Stunde Zeit zur Verfügung hat, dem kann ich nur wärmstens empfehlen, es sich anzuschauen.

Wenn es Ihnen jedoch auf Deutsch lieber ist oder Sie es eilig haben, können Sie im Folgenden die Kern-Aussagen des Vortrags lesen: 

8 wichtige Facebook-Fakten

01

Niemand möchte auf Facebook etwas kaufen

Wer auf Facebook unterwegs ist, hat nicht die Absicht etwas zu kaufen. Deswegen sollten Sie auch nicht versuchen dort etwas zu verkaufen.

02

Die organische Beitragsreichweite geht gegen Null

Beitragsreichweite bezeichnet die Anzahl von Personen, in deren Newsfeed Posts von Ihrer Facebook Seite angezeigt wurden. Organische Reichweite bezieht sich dabei auf unbezahlte Posts und beträgt nur noch rund 1-3 %. Traurig, aber wahr. Die Alternative sind bezahlte Posts – die sogenannten Facebook Ads.

03

Es geht um Likes, Teilen und Kommentare…

Dieser Punkt ist selbsterklärend.

04

 … vor allem Kommentare!

 … vor allem Kommentare!

Je mehr und je länger die Kommentare, desto besser. Facebook selbst spricht dabei von „Engagement“.

05

Facebook zeigt Inhalte, die wir lieben und versteckt alles Langweilige

Je mehr und je länger die Kommentare, desto besser. Facebook selbst spricht dabei von „Engagement“.

Das Ziel von Facebook ist es, eine gute User Erfahrung zu schaffen. Der Facebook-Feed ist daher wie ein Schaufenster. Nur dir attraktiven Inhalte werden der Außenwelt präsentiert. Alles andere verschwindet auf dem Wühltisch oder im Lager, wo es niemand findet.

Anders ausgedrückt: Posts, die keine Likes bekommen und weder geteilt noch kommentiert werden, gelten als uninteressant und werden nicht angezeigt.

06

Die beliebtesten Inhalte auf sozialen Medien – inklusive Facebook – sind:

  • inspirierend/(weiter-)bildend (25%)
  • lustig (17%)
  • und/oder unterhaltsam (15%)

07

Die drei wichtigen E’s: Engage, Educate & Entertain

Auf deutsch ausgedrückt heißt das: Engagement, Bildung und Entertainment stehen im Facebook-Fokus.

08

Zuerst kommt der Mehrwert, dann das Vertrauen – und damit das Publikum

Je mehr und je länger die Kommentare, desto besser. Facebook selbst spricht dabei von „Engagement“.

 The amount of trust you earn, is proportionate to the value you provide (Antoine Dupont).

Das heißt im Umkehrschluss: je kleiner eine Community, desto höher ist der Bedarf an Mehrwert, der geliefert werden muss. Denn nur das schafft Vertrauen und nur dann kommen auch die Fans. Viele machen einen grundlegenden Fehler, indem sie denken „Ich habe doch noch kaum Follower, für wen soll ich gute Inhalte posten?“ Doch wer nichts Gutes postet, wird niemals Fans bekommen.

 

Die wichtigsten DONT’S auf Facebook

Langweilige Inhalte teilen – und danach verschwinden

Die meisten Unternehmen machen den Fehler, einen langweiligen Beitrag nach dem anderen zu teilen. Im schlimmsten Fall ohne Kommentar oder jegliche Mühe, die Menschen dazu zu bringen, sich zu engagieren. Dupond spricht dabei von „post & disappear“ (dt: posten & verschwinden). Es ist das Todesurteil jeder Seite.

Die eigenen Inhalte liken

Ähm ja… das ist ganz einfach traurig. Vor allem, wenn es sich um die ersten und einzigen Likes handelt.

Quantität vor Qualität setzen

„Möglichst viele Posts“ ist kein Maßstab für Erfolg. Denn es bringt überhaupt nichts, täglich einen schlechten Post zu teilen, der niemanden interessiert. Stattdessen sollten Sie z.B. lieber einmal pro Woche den einen, ultimativen Inhalt teilen, der etwas verändert.

Die wichtigsten DO’S auf Facebook

Posten & Engagieren

Um das zu erreichen, müssen Sie sich laut Dupont vor jedem Post diese 3 Fragen stellen:

  • bringt es mich zum lachen (oder zu anderen emotionalen Regungen)?
  • bringt es einen Mehrwert? (Lerneffekt, Unterhaltung…)
  • bringt es mich dazu mitzumachen/Engagement zu zeigen (also zu liken, teilen oder kommentieren)?

Im Idealfall können Sie alle drei Fragen mit einem „Ja“ beantworten. 3x Nein heißt auf jedenfall NICHT Posten.

Authentisch sein

Facebook Nutzer wollen Menschen, keine Maschinen. Also seien Sie Sie selbst und zeigen Sie Menschlichkeit. Und versuchen Sie nicht, andere zu imitieren

Mit den Beiträgen die Fragen der Zielgruppe beantworten

Viel zu oft gehen Unternehmen bei der Planung ihrer Beiträge von dem aus, was sie interessant finden. Oder was siewollen, dass es die Menschen wissen sollen. Doch meistens sind das nicht die Fragen der Facebook User. Die Kunst ist es mit den Beiträgen genau die Fragen der User zu beantworten. Ein hilfreiches und kostenloses Tool dafür ist Answer the public.

Übrigens: eine Frage die bei den meisten Keyword-Recherchen immer wieder auftaucht ist: Wieviel kostes es? Mit der Antwort tun sich viele Unternehmen schwer, wir reden nicht gerne über Preise. Doch dabei ist es genau das, was die Menschen brennend interessiert. Also erzählen Sie es Ihnen.

Facebook-Gruppe gründen

Facebook Gruppen sind DIE Orte, wo Engagement stattfindet. Die Gründung einer Gruppe, bei der es sich um einen gemeinsamen Zweck oder ein gemeinsames Interesse dreht, ist daher dringend empfehlenswert.

  • Das Ziel: 30 Superfans (= super aktive Gruppenmitglieder), die die Gruppe am Laufen halten
  • Die zwei goldenen Gruppenregeln: keine Werbung und keine Beleidigungen posten

Videos, Videos, Videos

Videos erzeugen 18x mehr Engagement als alle anderen Inhaltsformate! Außerdem wird Facebook laut Dupont bis 2020 fast nur noch aus Videos bestehen. Deswegen sollte jeder versuchen Zeit und Geld in die Produktion von Videos stecken.

Aber bitte keine Werbevideos – denn keiner will sich Werbung anschauen. Empfehlenswert sind stattdessen lehrreiche Videos mit einem erkennbaren Mehrwert, zum Beispiel How To’s. Das klingt erstmal nach viel (neuer) Arbeit. Ist es sicherlich auch. Doch die gute Nachricht ist: es darf simpel sein – und in viel Fällen reicht sogar ein Smartphone für die Aufnahme.

Geduld zeigen

Eine Community lässt sich nicht von heute auf morgen aufbauen. Im Gegenteil – es kann sehr viele Monate dauern. Die meisten geben zu schnell auf.

JETZT starten

Jetzt. Nicht erst in ein paar Wochen. Denn Facebook wird nicht ewig auf diese Weise zugänglich für Unternehmen sein. Noch ist es erschwinglich Facebook Ads zu schalten und damit die Reichweite zu erhöhen. Doch mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit, werden bezahlte Posts in Zukunft teurer werden – und damit für viele kleine Unternehmen nicht mehr finanzierbar.

Anstatt Geld in Werbung zu stecken, die keiner sehen will, sollten Sie daher dieses Geld nutzen, um mit guten Inhalten bei Facebook auf sich aufmerksam zu machen.

Hier geht’s zum Vortrag…

Wenn Ihnen dieser Beitrag gefallen hat, empfehlen Sie ihn doch weiter:

Das könnten dir auch gefallen

SEO Optimierung – In 7 Schritten zum Erfolg

Egal ob Sie einen Blog oder eine Unternehmensseite betreiben – Ihr Erfolg steht und fällt mit der Sichtbarkeit Ihrer Webpräsenz. Ihr Ziel ist daher: möglichst weit oben in der Ergebnisliste von...

In 10 Schritten die eigene WordPress Seite erstellen: von der Domain zur Webseite

Was zunächst unüberwindbar erscheint, ist in Wirklichkeit nicht schwer. Hier erhalten Sie eine Schritt-für Schritt-Anleitung, wie Sie Ihre eigene WordPress Seite erstellen: Von der Domain über die WordPress Installation bis hin zur fertigen Webseite.