Facebook Marketing: 8 practical tips for beginners

by Guidebook, Social Media Marketing

Facebook is THE social network. According to its own figures, it has around two billion users - that's more than a quarter of the world's population! In other words, an unimaginable number. The potential reach is correspondingly large and above all international. In addition, Facebook offers plenty of opportunities for communication, interaction and promotion. Not a bad basis for spreading your content. Nevertheless, it doesn't work without a plan and care.

Nowadays, it is almost good form for a company or blogger to operate a Facebook page in addition to their own website. In most cases, users even expect it. In fact, Facebook is an excellent opportunity to expand virtually. Once you have built up a fan community, the users act as a natural multiplier: they share, like and comment on your posts - and your reach increases.

However, Facebook marketing is not a no-brainer. You must first actively build up your community and then keep it just as active. This requires a mature strategy, intensive support and, of course, content that offers sufficient added value. Facebook operates on a similar principle to search engines: high-quality content that users like is displayed. Other content disappears somewhere in the network nirvana. Logical in principle.

But how does successful Facebook marketing work? What do you have to bear in mind? Well, experience makes perfect, but a few tips for the beginning can't hurt.

01

A Facebook page does not run on the side

If you want to use Facebook as a channel for your own purposes, you should really want to do it and follow through consistently. 

 Just letting it ripple along on the side will not bring success in the long run - rather the opposite. A poor or even frustrating Facebook presence ultimately also reflects badly on the website. Randomly selected posts without plan and context, confuses users at best and annoys them at worst

Without a Facebook marketing strategy, nothing works. Think about it in advance:

  • What do you want to achieve with your Facebook presence?
  • Which target group do you want to address?
  • What is your common thread?
  • How do you create the connection to your website as well as the necessary differentiation for more exclusivity?
  • How much time and, if necessary, other resources do you need for network care?

02

Posting is also a question of timing

Timing - when you share your content - is relevant to reach and success.

Don't assume that content will be seen at some point anyway, because that's not the case. People are active at different times. Research from Hootsuitefound that a good time to post on Facebook is generally between 12pm and 3pm on weekdays. 

However, this is only a rough guide. Depending on the target group, the optimal time can vary greatly. The only way to find out the best timing is to analyse your published posts. When are your users online? When was there the greatest reach? Where were the interactions the greatest? You can use Facebook's internal statistics tool very well for this.Experimentation is part of it. Don't be afraid to try out unusual times. If you have an international audience, be aware of the time difference.

Sounds elaborate? Don't worry, with time you'll get a knack for good timing!

03

Do not make it the centre of online marketing

Facebook marketing should only ever be a spin-off of your online marketing and not the centre! 

Unlike your website, you do not have full control over Facebook. Changes in policies, updates, etc. can have a significant impact on your success - a current example is explained in more detail in the last section. Therefore, do not bet all your cards on one network!

04

Win - and keep - real fans with real added value!

Not everyone who likes your page is automatically a real fan. 

For the time being, he is only an interested party and it is up to you to convince him of your site and turn him into a real supporter. Pagelikes are therefore not everything and only say something about the success of a page to a limited extent. Nevertheless, they are of course important to generate a certain reach. Purchased likes, on the other hand, are of little use.

You win real fans through content that offers added value. IIdeally, these should not only be relevant and interesting, but also encourage users to interact. A "something-or-other" post does not lead to success.

Furthermore, you can use Facebook as a channel for exclusive contents that they don't publish anywhere else - neither on your website, nor on any other social network. Exclusivity combined with quality, relevance and a bit of variety "forces" potential users to follow your page because it's the only way they can get the information.

05

Furthermore, it is of course always important to link to your own website and to share the content there on Facebook.

You can now either manually share your new post on Facebook each time, or have this done automatically via a suitable WordPress plugin - for example SNAP. This can save a lot of time in certain circumstances.

You can and should optimise the "snippet" of your post shared on Facebook in the backend of your website: You can adjust the preview via the meta description. In no more than 155 characters, briefly and succinctly state what the article is about and what the reader can expect. In combination with a concise title, eye-catching image and supplementary text, you can arouse the necessary curiosity.

06

There is a very important difference between a website and a Facebook page:

The distance between user and operator is much smaller - at least it feels that way. Formalities play less of a role; personality, sympathy and direct contact, however, are all the more important.

Create the illusion that the user knows you (or your company) personally. That if he were to meet you on the street, he would even be inclined to shout "hello"! Although this does not happen in reality, personality, authenticity and "closeness" to the user are incredibly important. Therefore, ALWAYS respond promptly to comments and messages, involve your fans in decisions and create a respectful, relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

07

Videos on the rise

A look at the private newsfeed makes it clear: videos are becoming more and more important.

A glance at the private newsfeed makes it clear: videos are becoming more and more important. This is not surprising, since video is the best way to generate and transmit emotions. Moreover, it is usually less tiring to watch a video than to read a text. Facebook also gives you the option of creating live videos - which brings us back to the point of personality and presence. Admittedly, videos are not for everyone. Nevertheless, it is worth thinking about!

08

Use Facebook advertising in a targeted way

There are basically two ways to increase your reach via Facebook:

 

  • organically, via your shared posts and through fan interaction
  • via paid Facebook advertising

Running ads on Facebook costs money, of course, but it is affordable compared to other marketing measures and you can set the budget yourself. Depending on your goals, you can choose from different types of advertising measures (e.g. generally promote your page, a specific post or an event). Always define the target group, such as age, gender, interests, place of residence, etc.. Conveniently, this works individually for each application in Facebook's advertising manager.

Update 2018: Newsfeed becomes more personal again!

Already at the beginning of the year, Mark Zuckerberg announced a Facebook update for the newsfeed. Private posts from friends and family should once again be given priority. Posts from public sites - such as news portals, organisations or companies - on the other hand become less present. The reason: the focus should be on social interactions again and not on "passive consumption".

Facebook

By loading the post, you accept Facebook's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load contribution

PGlmcmFtZSBsb2FkaW5nPSJsYXp5IiBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LmZhY2Vib29rLmNvbS9wbHVnaW5zL3Bvc3QucGhwP2hyZWY9aHR0cHMlM0ElMkYlMkZ3d3cuZmFjZWJvb2suY29tJTJGenVjayUyRnBvc3RzJTJGMTAxMDQ0MTMwMTUzOTM1NzEmIzAzODt3aWR0aD01MDAiIHdpZHRoPSI1MDAiIGhlaWdodD0iMzAwIiBzdHlsZT0iYm9yZGVyOm5vbmU7b3ZlcmZsb3c6aGlkZGVuIiBzY3JvbGxpbmc9Im5vIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3dUcmFuc3BhcmVuY3k9InRydWUiPjwvaWZyYW1lPg==

As a social network, Facebook is not really announcing anything shocking. However, for those who want to use social media for marketing purposes or public relations, this change is not exactly good news. Because, conversely, it means: it is becoming much more difficult for public pages to achieve a good reach. Especially "small sites" with a still weak community will have to nibble at the changeover for the time being.

Nevertheless, this news is of course no reason to bury one's head in the sand and do without Facebook. However, it is all the more important to develop a marketing strategy that clearly focuses on social interaction.

  • Only deliver posts with real added value, lots of personality and authenticity.
  • Use it to stimulate discussion and interaction.
  • The interaction associated with live videos is greater than with normal videos, according to Mark Zuckerberg.
  • A thematically relevant Facebook group linked to your page helps to strengthen social interactions. In addition, as a private person, you can better disseminate your page content.

Make the best of it and see it as a challenge!

Facebook Marketing - Conclusion

With the right marketing strategy and implementation, you can become more successful with the help of Facebook. This will increase your overall presence and reach and also strengthen customer loyalty. However, be aware: Facebook marketing is not a sprint that quickly brings you maximum success, but a long endurance run. You build a strong, genuine community slowly and keeping it requires good stamina. Don't shy away from the challenge - it's worth it!

If you enjoyed this post, please recommend it to others:

Optimise images for the search engine: here's how!

In the fight for the top positions in search results, a lot of work is invested in search engine optimisation of texts. That is by no means wrong. But don't forget the images - because...

The Corporate Blog: Success strategy with personality

The corporate blog is now far more than just an insider tip in content marketing....

Facebook Marketing: 8 praktische Tipps für Einsteiger

von Ratgeber, Social Media Marketing

Facebook ist DAS soziale Netzwerk. Nach eigenen Angaben tummeln sich dort rund zwei Milliarden Nutzer – das ist über ein Viertel der Weltbevölkerung! Also unvorstellbar viel. Dementsprechend groß und vor allem international ist die potenzielle Reichweite. Darüberhinaus bietet Facebook reichlich Möglichkeiten zur Kommunikation, Interaktion und Bewerbung. Keine schlechte Grundlage, um Ihre Inhalte weiter zu verbreiten. Dennoch: ohne Plan und Pflege geht es nicht.

Heutzutage gehört es schon fast zum guten Ton, als Unternehmen oder Blogger zusätzlich zur eigenen Webseite eine Facebookseite zu betreiben. Meist wird das von den Usern sogar erwartet. Tatsächlich ist Facebook ist eine hervorragende Möglichkeit virtuell zu expandieren. Denn haben Sie erst einmal eine Fan-Gemeinde aufgebaut, fungieren die Nutzer als natürlicher Multiplikator: sie teilen, liken und kommentieren Ihre Posts – und Ihre Reichweite wird damit größer.

Allerdings ist Facebook Marketing kein Selbstläufer. Sie müssen Ihre Community zunächst aktiv aufbauen und dann ebenso aktiv halten. Das benötigt eine ausgereifte Strategie, intensive Betreuung und selbstverständlich Inhalte, die ausreichend Mehrwert bieten. Facebook agiert dabei nach einem ähnlichen Prinzip wie Suchmaschinen: hochwertige Inhalte, die Nutzer mögen, werden angezeigt. Andere verschwinden irgendwo im Netzwerk-Nirwana. Im Grunde logisch.

Aber wie geht erfolgreiches Facebook Marketing? Was muss man dabei beachten? Nun, eigene Erfahrungen machen bekanntlich Meister, aber ein paar Tipps für den Anfang können nicht schaden.

01

Eine Facebookseite läuft nicht nebenbei

Wer Facebook als Kanal für seine Zwecke nutzen möchte, der sollte es auch wirklich wollen und konsequent durchziehen. 

 Es einfach nur nebenbei daher plätschern zu lassen, bringt langfristig keinen Erfolg – eher im Gegenteil. Eine schlechte oder gar frustrierende Facebook Präsenz wirft letztendlich auch ein schlechtes Licht auf die Webseite. Wahllos ausgewählte Beiträge ohne Plan und Zusammenhang, verwirrt die User im besten Fall und verärgert sie im schlimmsten

Ohne eine Facebook Marketing Strategie läuft daher grundsätzlich gar nichts. Überlegen Sie sich vorab:

  • Was wollen Sie mit Ihrer Facebook Präsenz erreichen?
  • Welche Zielgruppe wollen Sie ansprechen?
  • Wie sieht ihr roter Faden aus?
  • Wie schaffen Sie zugleich die Verbindung zu Ihrer Webseite, als auch die nötige Abgrenzung für mehr Exklusivität?
  • Wieviel Zeit und ggf. andere Ressourcen benötigen Sie für die Netzwerk Pflege?

02

Beiträge posten ist auch eine Frage von Timing

Das Timing – also wann Sie Ihre Inhalte teilen – ist relevant für Reichweite und Erfolg.

Gehen Sie nicht davon aus, dass Inhalte sowieso irgendwann gesehen werden, denn das ist nicht der Fall. Menschen sind zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten aktiv. Untersuchungen von Hootsuiteergaben, dass eine gute Zeit zum Posten auf Facebook im Allgemeinen werktags zwischen 12 und 15 Uhr ist. 

Das ist allerdings nur ein grober Richtwert. Je nach Zielgruppe kann der optimale Zeitpunkt stark davon abweichen. Das beste Timing bekommen sie daher nur raus, indem sie Ihre veröffentlichten Beiträge analysieren. Wann sind Ihre Nutzer online? Wann gab es die größte Reichweite? Wo waren die Interaktionen am größten? Dafür können Sie das Facebook-internen Statistik-Tool sehr gut nutzen.Experimentieren gehört dazu. Testen Sie ruhig auch mal ungewöhnliche Zeiten. Achten Sie bei einem internationalen Publikum zudem auf die Zeitverschiebung.

Klingt aufwendig? Keine Sorge, mit der Zeit bekommen ein Händchen für gutes Timing!

03

Nicht zum Zentrum des Online Marketings machen

Facebook Marketing sollte immer nur eine Auskopplung Ihres Online Marketings darstellen und nicht das Zentrum! 

Im Gegensatz zu Ihrer Webseite, haben Sie bei Facebook nämlich nicht die volle Kontrolle. Änderungen von Richtlinien, Updates etc. können Ihren Erfolg maßgeblich beeinflussen – ein aktuelles Beispiel wird im letzten Abschnitt näher erläutert. Setzen Sie daher nicht alle Karten auf ein Netzwerk!

04

Mit echtem Mehrwert echte Fans gewinnen – und behalten!

Nicht jeder, der Ihre Seite liked ist auch automatisch ein echter Fan. 

Er ist erstmal nur ein Interessent und es liegt an Ihnen, diesen von Ihrer Seite zu überzeugen und zu einem echten Unterstützer zu machen. Pagelikes sind demzufolge nicht alles und sagen nur bedingt etwas über den Erfolg einer Seite aus. Dennoch sind sie natürlich wichtig, um eine gewisse Reichweite zu erzeugen. Gekaufte Likes hingegen, bringen jedoch herzlich wenig.

Echte Fans gewinnen Sie durch Inhalte, die einen Mehrwert bieten. Im Optimalfall sollten diese nicht nur relevant und interessant sein, sondern die User zudem zur Interaktion anregen. Ein „Irgendwas-Hauptsache-Etwas-Posten“ führt nicht zum Erfolg.

Desweiteren können Sie Facebook als Kanal für exklusive Inhalte nutzen, die sie sonst nirgends veröffentlichen – weder auf Ihrer Webseite, noch auf einem anderen sozialen Netzwerk. Exklusivität in Kombination mit Qualität, Relevanz und einem Quäntchen Abwechslungsreichtum „zwingt“ potenzielle User dazu, Ihrer Seite zu folgen, da sie nur so an die Informationen gelangen.

05

Facebook Marketing beginnt auf der eigenen Webseite

Desweiteren ist es natürlich stets wichtig den Bogen zur eigenen Webseite zu spannen und die dortigen Inhalte auf Facebook zu teilen.

Sie können nun entweder jedes mal manuell Ihren neuen Beitrag auf Facebook teilen, oder sie lassen dies automatisch über ein geeignetes WordPress Plugin erledigen – beispielsweise SNAP. Das kann unter Umständen viel Zeit sparen.

Das bei Facebook geteilte „Snippet“ Ihres Beitrags können und sollten Sie im Backend Ihrer Webseite optimieren: über die Meta-Beschreibung können Sie die Vorschau anpassen. Bringen Sie dabei in maximal 155 Zeichen kurz und knackig auf den Punkt, worum es in dem Beitrag geht und was den Leser erwartet. In Kombination mit einem prägnanten Titel, auffälligen Bild und ergänzendem Text, können Sie die nötige Neugier wecken.

06

Persönlichkeit und Präsenz zeigen

Es gibt einen ganz entscheidenden Unterschied zwischen einer Webseite und einer Facebook Seite:

Die Distanz zwischen User und Betreiber ist viel geringer – zumindest fühlt es sich so an. Formalitäten spielen weniger eine Rolle; Persönlichkeit, Sympathie und direkter Kontakt ist jedoch umso wichtiger.

Erwecken Sie die Illusion, dass der User Sie (bzw. Ihr Unternehmen) persönlich kennt. Dass er, wenn er Sie auf der Straße begegnen würde, gar geneigt wäre „Hallo“ zu rufen! Zwar findet das in der Realität eher nicht statt, nichtsdestotrotz  ist Persönlichkeit, Authentizität und „Nähe“ zum User unglaublich wichtig. Reagieren Sie daher IMMER und zeitnah auf Kommentare und Nachrichten, ziehen Sie Ihre Fans in Entscheidungen mit ein und erzeugen Sie eine respektvolle, lockere und freundschaftliche Atmosphäre.

07

Videos auf dem Vormarsch

Ein Blick auf den privaten Newsfeed macht deutlich: Videos gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung.

Ein Blick auf den privaten Newsfeed macht deutlich: Videos gewinnen immer mehr an Bedeutung. Das überrascht nicht, immerhin können per Video Gefühle am besten erzeugt und weitergegeben werden. Außerdem ist es meistens weniger anstrengend ein Video zu schauen, als einen Text zu lesen. Bei Facebook haben Sie zudem die Möglichkeit Live Videos zu erstellen – wo wir wieder bei dem Punkt Persönlichkeit und Präsenz wären. Zugegeben, Videos sind nicht für jeden etwas. Dennoch: es lohnt sich darüber nachzudenken!

08

Facebook Werbung gezielt einsetzen

Über Facebook haben Sie grundsätzlich zwei Möglichkeiten Ihre Reichweite zu erhöhen:

 

  • organisch, über Ihre geteilten Beiträge und durch die Interaktion der Fans
  • über bezahlte Facebook Werbung

Werbeanzeigen auf Facebook zu schalten,  kostet natürlich Geld, ist aber im Vergleich zu anderen Marketing Maßnahmen erschwinglich und Sie können das Budget selbst festlegen. Je nachdem, welche Ziele Sie haben, können Sie aus verschiedenen Arten von Werbemaßnahmen wählen (z.B. allgemein Ihre Seite, einen bestimmten Beitrag oder eine Veranstaltung bewerben). Definieren Sie dabei stets die Zielgruppe, wie etwa Alter, Geschlecht, Interessen,Wohnort etc. Das funktioniert praktischerweise für jede Bewerbung individuell im Werbemanager von Facebook.

Update 2018: Newsfeed wird wieder persönlicher!

Bereits Anfang des Jahres kündigte Mark Zuckerberg ein Facebook Update für den Newsfeed an. Private Posts von Freunden und Familie sollen demnach wieder Priorität bekommen. Posts von öffentlichen Seiten – wie Nachrichtenportalen, Organisationen oder Unternehmen – werden hingegen weniger präsent. Der Grund: der Fokus soll wieder auf den sozialen Interaktionen liegen und nicht auf  einem „passiven Konsumieren“.

Facebook

Mit dem Laden des Beitrags akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Facebook.
Mehr erfahren

Beitrag laden

PGlmcmFtZSBzcmM9Imh0dHBzOi8vd3d3LmZhY2Vib29rLmNvbS9wbHVnaW5zL3Bvc3QucGhwP2hyZWY9aHR0cHMlM0ElMkYlMkZ3d3cuZmFjZWJvb2suY29tJTJGenVjayUyRnBvc3RzJTJGMTAxMDQ0MTMwMTUzOTM1NzEmIzAzODt3aWR0aD01MDAiIHdpZHRoPSI1MDAiIGhlaWdodD0iMzAwIiBzdHlsZT0iYm9yZGVyOm5vbmU7b3ZlcmZsb3c6aGlkZGVuIiBzY3JvbGxpbmc9Im5vIiBmcmFtZWJvcmRlcj0iMCIgYWxsb3dUcmFuc3BhcmVuY3k9InRydWUiPjwvaWZyYW1lPg==

Als soziales Netzwerk, verkündet Facebook damit eigentlich nichts Schockierendes. Für diejenigen jedoch, die Social Media für Marketing Zwecke oder Öffentlichkeitsarbeit nutzen möchten, ist diese Änderung nicht gerade eine frohe Botschaft. Denn es bedeutet im Umkehrschluss: es wird deutlich schwieriger für öffentliche Seiten, eine gute Reichweite zu erzielen. Insbesondere „kleine Seiten“ mit einer noch schwachen Community, werden an der Umstellung erstmal zu knabbern haben.

Dennoch ist diese Neuigkeit natürlich kein Grund den Kopf in den Sand zu stecken und auf Facebook zu verzichten. Umso wichtiger wird  es jedoch, eine Marketing Strategie zu entwickeln, bei welcher der Fokus klar auf sozialer Interaktion liegt.

  • Liefern Sie nur Beiträge mit echtem Mehrwert, viel Persönlichkeit und Authentizität.
  • Regen Sie damit zu Diskussionen und Interaktion an.
  • Die Interaktion im Zusammenhang mit Live Videos ist laut Mark Zuckerberg größer als mit normalen Videos.
  • Eine thematisch relevante Facebook Gruppe verknüpft mit Ihrer Seite, hilft soziale Interaktionen zu stärken. Zudem können Sie so als Privatperson Ihre Seiteninhalte besser verbreiten.

Machen Sie das beste draus und sehen Sie es als Herausforderung!

Facebook Marketing – Fazit

Mit der richtigen Marketing Strategie und Umsetzung, können Sie mit Hilfe von Facebook erfolgreicher werden. So steigern Sie Ihre allgemeine Präsenz und Reichweite und stärken darüber hinaus die Kundenbindungen. Seien Sie sich jedoch bewusst: Facebook Marketing ist kein Sprint, der Sie schnell zum maximalen Erfolg bringt, sondern ein langer Dauerlauf. Eine starke, echte Community bauen Sie langsam auf und sie zu halten bedarf eine gute Ausdauer. Scheuen Sie sich nicht vor der Herausforderung – sie ist es wert!

Wenn Ihnen dieser Beitrag gefallen hat, empfehlen Sie ihn doch weiter:

Das könnten dir auch gefallen

Was ist eine Landingpage? – Die kleine Einführung für Einsteiger

Sie möchten ein bestimmtes Produkt verkaufen oder wollen Teilnehmer für Ihr Online-Seminar finden? Oder sammeln Sie Emailadressen für Ihren Newsletter? Eine Landingpage kann Ihnen dabei helfen!...

Bilder für die Suchmaschine optimieren: so geht’s!

Im Kampf um die TOP-Plätze der Suchergebnisse, wird viel Arbeit in die Suchmaschinenoptimierung...