What is what? The most important online marketing disciplines at a glance

by Guidebook

In online marketing, a colourful mixture of English terms is often thrown around. This variety can cause a lot of confusion, especially for newcomers. Content marketing, inbound marketing, affiliate marketing...? So that you don't fall into complete lethargy, here is a brief overview of the most important online marketing disciplines.

Online marketing

Let's just start at the beginning. With a definition of marketing in general:

Marketing (in German: Absatzwirtschaft) is the targeted and target group-oriented orientation of corporate activities to the needs of the market, in particular the advertising and offering of goods and services. (gruenderszene.de)

This includes, among others, the following objectives:

  • Publicity of the trade mark
  • (attractive) sales offers / deal closure
  • Identifying and meeting the needs of the target group
  • Long-term customer loyalty

Online marketing is part of it. It includes - as the name suggests - all marketing measures that are carried out via the internet. For example, any form of online advertising, email marketing and much more. This contrasts with offline marketing (e.g. flyers, posters, radio advertising).

All the following explanations of terms are part of online marketing.

Content marketing

According to the Content Marketing Institute, content marketing is:

[...] a strategic marketing approach focused on creating and distributing valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract and retain a clearly-defined audience - and, ultimately, to drive profitable customer action.

In contrast to classic advertising, content marketing does not focus on sales. But the continuous production of relevant content that offers added value to the user.

Why is this diversions worthwhile? With good content, you get attention, attract potential customers and make them come back again and again. This article offers you a lot of useful information on the topic of content marketing.

Inbound marketing

Ok, content marketing is clear now - the term is also kind of self-explanatory. But when content marketing Content Marketing then what is inbound marketing?

It is not so easy to draw the line. Because in fact both methods go in a similar direction. Inbound marketing also relies on useful content instead of clumsy advertisements.

But unlike content marketing, the focus here is still on sales - for example via a Landing page or a call-to-action.

In general, most experts agree that inbound marketing is more of an umbrella term that includes content marketing. If you want to know exactly: t3N has a detailed article on the two strongly interlinked marketing disciplines.

Affiliate marketing

Surely you know comparison sites like idealo.de, don't you? These portals do not sell products themselves, but compare prices of different online shops. When you as a user have found the right bargain, you click on your link and are redirected to Amazon, Ebay & Co. There you can finally make the purchase.

Such comparison sites make use of the affiliate marketing of online shops.If a purchase is made, they collect a commission from the online shop.

Affiliate marketing is based on the "one hand washes the other" principle. A website operator (= publisher or affiliate) advertises the products or services of other companies free of charge. In return, the company (= advertiser) offers the publisher a commission IF the advertising measure is successful.

This concept brings advantages for both sides. While the publisher can earn extra money by including so-called affiliate links, advertisers generate more reach and sales. At the same time, the companies do not take any risk, as the commission is only paid if a purchase is actually made.

Social Media Marketing

Social Media Marketing encompasses all marketing activities carried out via social media channels such as Facebook & Co. A discipline that - if implemented correctly - has a strong impact and is becoming increasingly important.

According to Social Media Atlas 90 % of all German internet users use social media. Youtube is in the lead, closely followed by Facebook in second place. Instagram is also on the rise, especially among young users between the ages of 15 and 30.

In social media, information spreads like wildfire and thus social media marketing enables the increase of traffic, reach and customer loyalty. However, it is important to note: social platforms serve as a supplement and multiplier to your existing web presence - not as a replacement!

Email Marketing

Email marketing refers to any email contact that serves to acquire new customers and retain customers. Dhe classic example is the good old newsletter. But this also includes individual info mails, for example about campaigns or events.

In contrast to content or inbound marketing, the customer does not search for the information here, he receives it by email. Accordingly, you should avoid annoying spam mails and place value on relevant useful content here as well. Advertising is allowed, but should be discreet and nicely presented in Content be packaged. Otherwise, email marketing can backfire very quickly. Because nobody wants to click through an inbox full of annoying advertising banners these days.

Also: Data protection must come first. Only use contact data that you are explicitly allowed to use. And stay away from bought email addresses! This should go without saying, but unfortunately there are still many black sheep on the online market - despite the DSGVO.

If you enjoyed this post, please recommend it to others:

About link building and backlinks - quality first!

External links are relevant for the ranking - that is generally known. Link building is therefore an important concept in search engine optimisation and can improve your...

Unique Content - Unique content is worth its weight in gold

Good content is the be-all and end-all of SEO optimisation. It must provide users with adequate answers to their questions and must be unique. Therefore, this article contains a few tips from us.

Was ist Was? Die wichtigsten Online Marketing Disziplinen auf einem Blick

von Ratgeber

Im Online Marketing wird gerne mit einer bunten Mischung englischer Begriffe um sich geworfen. Diese Vielfalt kann gerade bei Newcomern für reichlich Verwirrung sorgen. Content Marketing, Inbound Marketing, Affiliate Marketing…!? Damit Sie nicht in völlige Lethargie verfallen, erhalten Sie hier einen kleinen Überblick über die wichtigsten Online-Marketing Disziplinen.

Online Marketing

Fangen wir doch einfach mal ganz vorne an. Mit einer Definition von Marketing im Allgemeinen:

Marketing (auf Deutsch: Absatzwirtschaft) ist die gezielte und zielgruppenorientierte Ausrichtung der Unternehmensaktivitäten an den Bedürfnissen des Marktes insbesondere das Anpreisen und Anbieten von Waren und Dienstleistungen. (gruenderszene.de)

Das beinhaltet unter anderem folgende Ziele:

  • Bekanntmachung der Marke
  • (attraktive) Verkaufsangebote/Geschäfts-Abschluss
  • Erkennung und Erfüllung von Bedürfnissen der Zielgruppe
  • langfristige Kundenbindung

Online Marketing ist ein Teil davon. Es beinhaltet – wie der Name schon erahnen lässt – alle Marketing-Maßnahmen, die über das Internet durchgeführt werden. Beispielsweise jegliche Form von Online Werbung, Email-Marketing und vieles mehr. Das steht im Kontrast zum Offline-Marketing (z.B. Flyer, Plakate, Radiowerbung).

Alle nun folgenden Begriffserklärungen sind ein Teil des Online-Marketings.

Content Marketing

Laut Content Marketing Institute, ist Content Marketing:

[..] a strategic marketing approach focused on creating and distributing valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract and retain a clearly-defined audience – and, ultimately, to drive profitable customer action.

Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Werbung steht beim Content Marketing nicht der Verkauf im Mittelpunkt. Sondern die kontinuierliche Produktion von relevanten Inhalten, die dem User einen Mehrwert bieten.

Warum sich dieser Umweg lohnt? Durch guten Content erzielen Sie Aufmerksamkeit, ziehen potenzielle Kunden an und bringen diese dazu immer wieder zu kommen. Dieser Artikel bietet Ihnen viele nützliche Informationen rund ums Thema Content Marketing.

Inbound Marketing

Ok, Content Marketing ist jetzt klar – der Begriff ist ja irgendwie auch selbsterklärend. Aber wenn Content Marketing Content Marketing ist, was bitte ist dann Inbound Marketing?

Die Grenze ist gar nicht so einfach zu ziehen. Denn in der Tat gehen beide Methoden in eine ähnliche Richtung. Auch Inbound Marketing baut auf nützliche Inhalte anstatt plumper Werbeanzeigen.

Doch im Gegensatz zum Content Marketing steht hier der Verkauf noch immer im Fokus – beispielsweise über eine Landingpage oder einen Call-to-Action.

Im Allgemeinen sind sich die meisten Experten darüber einig, dass Inbound-Marketing eher ein Überbegriff ist, der Content Marketing mit einschließt. Wenn Sie es ganz genau wissen wollen: t3N hat einen ausführlichen Artikel über die beiden stark miteinander verknüpften Marketing Disziplinen verfasst.

Affiliate Marketing

Sicher kennen Sie Vergleichsseiten wie idealo.de, oder? Diese Portale verkaufen selbst keine Produkte, sondern vergleichen Preise unterschiedlicher Online-Shops. Wenn Sie als User das passende Schnäppchen gefunden habe, klicken Sie auf deinen Link und werden zu Amazon, Ebay & Co weitergeleitet. Dort können Sie den Kauf letztendlich tätigen.

Solche Vergleichsseiten machen sich dabei das Affiliate Marketing (dt. Partner Marketing) der Online-Shops zu Nutze: Kommt es zum Kauf, kassieren sie eine Provision vom Online-Shop.

Affiliate Marketing beruht auf dem „eine Hand wäscht die andere“ Prinzip. Ein Webseitenbetreiber (=Publisher oder Affiliate) wirbt kostenlos für Produkte oder Dienstleistungen fremder Unternehmen. Im Gegenzug bietet das Unternehmen (= Advertiser) dem Publisher eine Provision FALLS die Werbemaßnahme zum Erfolg führt.

Dieses Konzept bringt für beide Seiten Vorteile. Während der Publisher durch das Einbinden von sog. Affiliate-Links was dazu verdienen kann, erzeugen Advertiser mehr Reichweite und Umsatz. Gleichzeitig gehen die Unternehmen aber kein Risiko ein, da die Provision nur dann gezahlt wird, wenn es tatsächlich zum Kauf kommt.

Social Media Marketing

Social Media Marketing umfasst alle Marketing-Aktivitäten, die über Social Media Kanäle wie Facebook & Co. getätigt werden. Eine Disziplin, die – wenn sie richtig umgesetzt wird – eine starke Wirkung hat und immer wichtiger wird.

Laut Social-Media-Atlas nutzen 90 % aller deutschen Internetnutzer Social Media. Allen voran Youtube, dicht gefolgt von Facebook aus Platz 2. Auch Instagram ist stark im Kommen, insbesondere bei jungen Usern zwischen 15 und 30 Jahren.

In den sozialen Medien verbreiten sich Informationen wie Lauffeuer und somit ermöglicht Social Media Marketing die Steigerung von Traffic, Reichweite und Kundenbindung. Wichtig ist jedoch: Soziale Plattformen dienen als Ergänzung und Multiplikator Ihrer vorhandenen Webpräsenz – nicht als Ersatz!

Email Marketing

Email Marketing bezeichnet jeglichen Email-Kontakt, der zur Neukundengewinnung und Kundenbindung dient. Das klassische Beispiel ist der gute alte Newsletter. Doch auch einzelne Info-Mails, etwa über Aktionen oder Events fallen darunter.

Im Gegensatz zum Content- oder Inbound Marketing sucht sich der Kunde hier nicht die Information, er bekommt sie per Email. Dementsprechend sollten Sie auf lästige Spam-Mails verzichten und auch hier Wert auf relevante nützliche Inhalte legen. Werbung ist erlaubt, aber sollte diskret und hübsch in Content verpackt werden. Ansonsten kann Email-Marketing sehr schnell nach hinten los gehen. Denn niemand möchte sich heutzutage noch durch einen Posteingang voll mit nervigen Werbebanner klicken.

Außerdem: Datenschutz muss an erster Stelle stehen. Verwenden Sie nur Kontakt-Daten, die Sie auch ausdrücklich nutzen dürfen. Und Finger weg von gekauften Email-Adressen! Das sollte zwar eigentlich selbstverständlich sein, doch leider gibt es auch heute noch – trotz DSGVO – viele schwarze Schafe auf dem Online Markt.

Wenn Ihnen dieser Beitrag gefallen hat, empfehlen Sie ihn doch weiter:

Das richtige WordPress Theme − so finden Sie es!

Das richtige WordPress-Theme zu finden, kann eine echte Herausforderung sein. An Auswahlmöglichkeiten mangelt es nicht, denn es gibt unzählige Themes. Die Kunst ist eher, das Richtige für seine...

Keywords richtig einsetzen – einfacher als gedacht!

Ein Keyword ist ein Schlüsselbegriff, der aussagt, worum es auf Ihrer Seite hauptsächlich geht. Es ist der Begriff, mit dem Sie bei Google gefunden werden möchten. In diesem Artikel geht es nach der Keyword-Analyse also ans Eingemachte!